Travelogue

8000km with the roof tent through Morocco

Opel Corsa with roof tent in the desert in Morocco in LAYZEE Stories

18 days, 8000km, 14 hours a day on the road in an "old" Opel Corsa with a Lazy Tent roof tent on bumpy desert tracks in Morocco? Sounds crazy?

Oli and André dare the adventure for a good cause!

The Europe-Africa Rodeo is a low budget rally for a good cause. Before and during the trip, donations are collected which are donated to a charity organization. This year the money was used for the construction of a preschool.

The rally from Europe to Africa is all about having fun. It's all about reaching the finish line together. The wild ride goes to the Atlas Mountains, into the Sahara and the Atlantic Ocean is not left out either.

  • Charity race for a good cause
  • OBJECTIVE: Construction of a preschool the participants collect through your donations.
  • Route: 18 days - about 6000km
  • Vehicle: An old car with no more than 50HP
LAYZEE Stories Europe Africa Rally with 50 hp

Which vehicle did you choose?

Our choice: an Opel Corsa, which had already had various tasty morsels of rust gnawed out of its body. It was inexpensive, had no superfluous electronics and no unmanageable comfort - that's what you call automotive raw state. Fortunately, we have tinkered with vehicles a time or two in our past and equipped ourselves with the appropriate tools. Thus, we were able to apply McGyver-like survival techniques at least until the emergency use of the desert ADAC...

LAYZEE Stories Europe Africa Rally with Opel Corsa and roof tent
LAYZEE Stories Europe Africa Rally in Morocco with the mechanic

How long were you on the road during the day and how did you spend the night?

In total, the rally lasted 18 days, with arrival and departure a little longer, and we drove almost 8000km. For 14 hours a day on the desert tracks we tested the Opel Corsa shock absorbers, which have already left their best days on well-maintained German roads far behind them. We constantly compared our own damping systems (especially cervical and lumbar) with the Corsa, with the result that every additional kilometer adjusted the condition of man and machine.

Bruised and exhausted from the eventful day, you have to burrow into the cold (!) desert sand with your sleeping bag for a few hours in the evening for an urgently needed rest. In the anxious expectation that the one or other scorpion or a snake are also grateful for a warm overnight place.

LAYZEE Stories Opel Corsa with roof tent Lazy Tent and Backroad Club durck Morocco. Europe Africa Rally

But luckily you had the Lazy Tent with you, how was your experience?

Each of the participants who can simply climb onto the roof of their vehicle and move into their luxury home should consider themselves lucky. Our roof tent Lazy Tent has really served us faithfully in Morocco and we have reaped envious looks from the other participants who have spent the night in the desert sand.

By opening and closing in seconds and the independently inflatable cozy mattress, it went Ruck Zuck in the horizontal. Guaranteed sand-, weather- and scorpion-protected! A proverbial desert loft! The Lazy Tent is so light that the roof of our Corsa played along without complaint, despite the extra weight of both pilots.

Restrictions? Absolutely none! Well, maybe one: No shower and no toilet installed! Should have been expected with the luxury that the tent otherwise presents.

Can you recommend the rally through Morocco with roof tent?

But without fun - our grade: Absolutely recommended! The roof tent, not the Corsa. It suddenly played rodeo and lost a horseshoe or wheel. The roof tent remained unimpressed in the "saddle". Then only the workshop helped. But there is nothing that a Moroccan "farrier" could not fix! On we went, towards our destination.

In any case, we stayed on top despite some resistance - not least because of our roof oasis: For this, many thanks for the generous support of our good cause! It will not be the last tour with your tent! But the next time with another vehicle. Maybe with a feudal Trabbi, a fiery R4 or a chattering 2CV-pre-war duck. Somehow you have to improve yourself...

If you also want to plunge into this adventure, then take a look at the organizer:

Click here to go directly to the roof tent Lazy Tent:

Back to list

Write a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.

Reisebericht

8000km mit dem Dachzelt durch Marokko

Opel Corsa mit Dachzelt in der Wüste in Marokko in LAYZEE Stories

18 Tage, 8000km, 14 Stunden am Tag mit einem “alten” Opel Corsa mit Dachzelt Lazy Tent auf trampeligen Wüstenpisten in Marokko unterwegs? Klingt verrückt?

Oli und André wagen das Abenteuer für einen guten Zweck!

Das Europe-Africa Rodeo ist eine Low Budget Rallye für den guten Zweck. Vor und während der Reise werden Spenden gesammelt, die an eine Hilfsorganisation gespendet werden. Dieses Jahr wurden die Gelder für den Bau einer Vorschule verwendet.

Bei der Rallye von Europa nach Afrika steht der Spaß im Vordergrund. Es geht darum, gemeinsam die Ziellinie zu erreichen. Die wilde Fahrt geht zum Atlasgebirge, rein in die Sahara und der Atlantische Ozean wird ebenfalls nicht ausgelassen.

  • Charity Rennen für einen guten Zweck
  • ZIEL: Bau einer Vorschule die Teilnehmer durch Ihre Spenden einsammeln.
  • Strecke: 18 Tage - ca. 6000km
  • Fahrzeug: Ein altes Auto mit nicht mehr als 50PS
LAYZEE Stories Europe Africa Rallye mit 50 PS

Für welches Fahrzeug habt ihr Euch entschieden?

Unsere Wahl: ein Opel Corsa, dem  Väterchen Rost bereits diverse schmackhafte Happen aus der Karosserie genagt hat. Er war dafür preiswert, hatte keine überflüssige Elektronik und keinen unüberschaubaren Komfort – so nennt man wohl automobilen Rohzustand. Wir haben zum Glück in unserer Vergangenheit das ein oder andere Mal an Fahrzeugen rumgeschraubt und uns mit entsprechendem Werkzeug gerüstet. Somit konnten wir zumindest bis zum Noteinsatz des Wüsten-ADAC McGyver-mäßige Überlebenstechniken anwenden…

LAYZEE Stories Europe Africa Rallye mit Opel Corsa und Dachzelt
LAYZEE Stories Europe Africa Rallye in Marokko beim Mechaniker

Wie lange seit ihr am Tag unterwegs gewesen und wie wurde übernachtet?

Insgesamt ging die Rallye 18 Tage, mit An- und Abreise noch ein wenig länger und sind wir knapp 8000km gefahren. Es wurden 14 Stunden am Tag auf den Wüstenpisten die Opel Corsa-Stoßdämpfer getestet, die ihre besten Tage auf gut gepflegten deutschen Straßen schon weit hinter sich gelassen haben. Wir glichen dabei unsere eigenen Dämpfersysteme (vorweg Hals- und Lendenwirbelsäule) beständig mit dem Corsa ab mit der Folge, dass jeder weitere Kilometer den Zustand von Mensch und Maschine angepasst hat.

Zerschlagen und fix und fertig vom erlebnisreichen Tag, muss man sich am Abend zur dringend notwendigen Erholung mit seinem Schlafsack ein paar Stunden in den kalten (!) Wüstensand einwühlen. In der bangen Erwartung, dass der eine oder andere Skorpion oder eine Schlange ebenfalls für ein warmes Übernachtungsplätzchen dankbar sind.

LAYZEE Stories Opel Corsa mit Dachzelt Lazy Tent und Backroad Club durck Marokko. Europe Africa Rallye

Aber ihr hattet ja zum Glück das Lazy Tent dabei, wie war Eure Erfahrung?

Jeder der Teilnehmer, der seinem Gefährt einfach auf’s Dach steigen und in seine Luxuswohnung einziehen darf, weiß sich glücklich zu schätzen. Unser Dachzelt Lazy Tent hat uns wirklich treue Dienste in Marokko geleistet und wir haben  neidische Blicken von den anderen Teilnehmern geerntet, die im Wüstensand übernachtet haben.

Durch sekundenschnelles auf- und wieder zuklappen und der selbstständig aufblasbaren gemütlichen Matratze ging es Ruck Zuck in die Waagerechte. Garantiert sand-, wetter- und skorpion-geschützt! Ein sprichwörtliches Wüstenloft! Das Lazy Tent ist so leicht, dass das Dach unseres Corsas trotz des Zusatzgewichts beider Piloten klaglos mitgespielt hat.

Einschränkungen? Absolut keine! Na ja, vielleicht eine: Keine Dusche und kein WC verbaut! Hätte man eigentlich erwarten dürfen bei dem Luxus, den das Zelt ansonsten vorlegt.

Könnt Ihr die Rallye durch Marokko mit Dachzelt empfehlen?

Doch ohne Spaß – unsere Note: Unbedingt empfehlenswert! Das Dachzelt, nicht der Corsa. Der spielte nämlich plötzlich Rodeo und verlor ein Hufeisen bzw. Rad. Das Dachzelt blieb dabei unbeeindruckt im „Sattel“. Da half dann nur noch die Werkstatt. Doch es gibt nichts, was ein marokkanischer „Hufschmied“ nicht wieder hindengeln könnte! Weiter ging‘s, dem Ziel entgegen.

Wir blieben jedenfalls trotz mancher Widerstände obenauf – nicht zuletzt durch unsere Dachoase: Hierfür herzlichen Dank für die großzügige Unterstützung unserer guten Sache! Es wird nicht die letzte Tour mit Eurem Zelt gewesen sein! Das nächste Mal aber mit einem anderen fahrbaren Untersatz. Vielleicht mit einem feudalen Trabbi, einem feurigen R4 oder einer schnatternden 2CV-Vorkriegsente. Irgendwie muss man sich ja verbessern…

Wenn ihr Euch auch in dieses Abenteuer stürzen wollt, dann schaut mal beim Veranstalter vorbei:

Hier geht's direkt zum Dachzelt Lazy Tent:

Back to list

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert